South Dakota Art Deco & Streamline Moderne Buildings (page 3)

(hit "refresh" to get the most recent version of this page; click on photos for larger images)

City Hall
Sioux Falls, SD
This City Hall building was designed by Harold Spitznagel and built in 1936. The mural in the Commissioners room was created by Edwin Boyd Johnson. For more, see this website. [map]

Auditorium and Armory
Sturgis, SD
This Auditorium and Armory was built in 1936. [map]

former Harold's Camera Shop
Watertown, SD
Harold's Camera Shop opened in 1948 and this facade is from then. It probably had vitrolite tiles originally. The store operated until at least 1981. There is an older location in Sioux Falls which is still operating. [map]

Watertown Auditorium
Watertown, SD
The Watertown Auditorium was built in 1939 with WPA funding. [map]

Watertown Stadium
Watertown, SD
The Watertown Stadium was built in 1940 with WPA funding. It is currently used for baseball and football games. For more, see this website. [map]

City Hall
Webster, SD
This City Hall building was built from 1941-1943 and was partially funded as a WPA project. [map]

Jerauld County Courthouse
Wessington Springs, SD
The Jerauld County Courthouse was designed by Perkins & McWayne and built in 1930. The building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. [map]

South Dakota
(page 1)
South Dakota
(page 2)
Art Deco Buildings
Main Page